top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Ravelry Button
  • charmedchaos

Happy Victoria Day weekend!

Updated: Jul 5, 2022

Happy May 2-4 Friends!! It's the 1st long weekend of Summer & that means it's planting season. Hopefully someone has lots of time to get out & enjoy it, plant summer flowers & veggies. We had quite the storm system move through Southern Ontario yesterday, a lot of damage reported. But the forecast looks pretty good for this afternoon & Monday.


This week I was trying to focus on getting a couple patterns ready for release. I wanted to have at least one done & ready to go by the time this post goes live. Didn't quite work out as planned, but that's the story of life, right?! Editing a pattern takes much more time to do than I had first thought. Now I see why so many designers have testers for their patterns too! Some mistakes you can’t help but overlook & it takes someone else's eye to catch it!

I’ve come to realize that although I can multi-task, it’s not as easy to get each “task” completed when you’re constantly jumping from one thing to another! Add in that Autism lives here & it's been a hectic week. I’ve had very little time for my own knit piece …. Every time I think I can sit down & get some knitting done, something else pops up & I run to get it done or write down a new idea. I’ve taken to keeping a notebook beside me so that I can just jot down the ideas as they come 😉 I’ve also decided that I’ll be getting myself into more of a schedule, to help me make the most of the time available. I've also been dealing with recurrent migraines, so not much gets accomplished until they ease up.


I do have to say that I just love the pattern that is coming out first! My Celtic Trinity Knot crochet shawl was a labour of love. I first designed it for my daughter, using Bernat Velvet yarn in Misty Grey, at her request. It is so soft & luxurious!! It does make the shawl a little heavier because it’s a #5 weight yarn, and it can be harder to frog when mistakes are made, but the results are very much worth it!! I’m also working on a double knit scarf of the same image, that could also be translated into a single crochet version.



Hopefully, the image used is familiar to everyone, but if you don’t recognize it, it’s not only on my logo but it’s the symbol on the Halliwell Sisters’ Book of Shadows! Charmed was the first tv series that I faithfully watched every week AND the first that I purchased on dvd. It’s still a favourite in this house – think my daughter is re-watching it right now. That’s part of the reason I chose to use it in my logo design. I've got some other designs waiting too ..... our favourite brothers' tattoo will hopefully be done & ready to go soon!


That's it from me for this week. Let me know your thoughts on the design. I'd also love to hear if you prefer crochet or knit, or maybe you're multi-talented & like to do both.


Happy Stitching!!

*~ L

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page